Our website use cookies to improve and personalize your experience and to display advertisements (if any). Our website may also include cookies from third parties like Google Adsense, Google Analytics, and Youtube. By using the website, you consent to the use of cookies.

African iconic football legend honoured


AFRICAN football legend Didier Drogba, who has been honoured with the Presidential Award by European Football Association, has paid tribute to all the clubs that he played for. 

Drogba also praised UEFA for helping to mould him into a football administrator strong enough to run for the presidency of the Ivory Coast Football Association.

After receiving his trophy from UEFA president Aleksander Ceferin, Drogba said: “I want to thank @UEFA , President Čeferin for honouring me, the teams I’ve played for and against , my teammates and all the people who have sent me so many nice messages of congratulation.”


Drogba said more than my achievements in football,  he was more proud of the man he has  become through 20 years of football education.

Drogba has invested millions in philanthropic work in Ivory Coast, through the Didier Drogba Foundation, where he has built schools and a hospital. 

Drogba was congratulated by his former club Chelsea, with whom he  won the European Champions League trophy. He was also praised by one of Europe’s top strikers, Romelu Lukaku, who plays for Inter Milan and Belgium.

Lukaku said: “ Congratulations to my idol, mentor @didierdrogba you keep amazing me. Well deserved. Love you.”

Drogba responded: “Yes, my Goal Machin. Much love to you too.”

Bayern Munich star striker Robert Lewandoski was named UEFA’s Player of the Year award for 2019-20. He beat Bayern teammate Manuel Neuer and Manchester City midfielder Kevin de Bruyne to the award.

READ:  Nigerian pop star Yemi Alade wants to help women in new UN role

De Bruyne was named Champions League’s midfielder of the year and Neuer bagged the goalkeeper of the year. Bayern Munich defender Joshua Kimmich won the best defender award. Bayern Munich coach Hansi Flick won the men’s coach of the year after leading his side to its sixth European title.

Chelsea striker Pernille Harder won the women’s Player of the Year award.


By The African Mirror