Our website use cookies to improve and personalize your experience and to display advertisements (if any). Our website may also include cookies from third parties like Google Adsense, Google Analytics, and Youtube. By using the website, you consent to the use of cookies.

At a glance: US presidential nominating contests and delegates counts for March 12

PRESIDENT Joe Biden and former President Donald Trump could each net enough delegates in the next round of nominating contests on Tuesday to clinch their parties’ nominations.

In the Republican race, 161 delegates are up for grabs across the four states holding contests: Georgia, Hawaii, Mississippi and Washington. Trump, the sole remaining Republican candidate, already has secured 1,060 delegates and needs at least 1,215 to win the party’s nomination.

On the Democratic side, Biden has faced no serious challenges and also appears likely to clinch his party’s nomination after Tuesday’s primaries. He has 1,553 delegates so far and needs 1,968 delegates for the nomination.

Here is a look at the states and delegate counts for Tuesday’s nominating contests. Biden could also pick up delegates in Democratic contests being held in the Northern Mariana Islands and for Democrats living abroad.

Advertisements

GEORGIA:

Democratic delegate count: 108

Republican delegate count: 59

The polls close at 7 p.m. EST (2300 GMT)


MISSISSIPPI:

Democratic delegate count: 35

Republican delegate count: 40

The polls close at 7 p.m. EST (2300 GMT)

A September poll from Echelon Insights shows Trump leading Biden by 18 percentage points in the conservative Magnolia State. Trump won Mississippi by roughly 16 percentage points in 2020. Trump won early primary endorsements from nearly all top Republican officeholders in the state.


WASHINGTON:

Democratic delegate count: 92

Advertisements

Republican delegate count: 43

READ:  U.S. Senate honors police officer who protected lawmakers in riot

The polls close at 11 p.m. EST (0300 GMT)

In January, a judge ruled that Trump could remain on Washington state’s Republican presidential primary ballot, rejecting one of several efforts to disqualify the former president from running again based on his efforts to reverse his 2020 election loss. Biden easily beat Trump in Washington in 2020 and again leads him in polling of their expected 2024 match-up.


HAWAII:

Republican delegate count: 19

In-person voting at the Republican caucuses ends at 2 a.m. EST Wednesday (0600 GMT Wednesday).

Biden beat Trump in the 2020 election by almost 30 percentage points in Hawaii. Hawaiians have voted Democratic in every presidential election except for the races in 1972 and 1984. Biden won the state’s March 6 Democratic caucus.

Advertisements
By HELEN COSTER

MORE FROM THIS SECTION